Replace your Panasonic DMR-E80H Hard Drive

I’ve had my E80H for years and that PVR has been recording all my TV shows without pause until last week when the hard drive finally died.

So I opened it up and popped out the Maxtor 80GB Drive and dropped in a replacement 80GB Drive and it worked without a hitch.

The new drive I got was a Western Digital 7200rpm 80GB Drive. I read online that a larger drive would work but would still be limited to the 80GB recording space so I stuck with the 80GB drive (for $50 at macsales.com).

The key to the installation is making sure the Master/Slave jumper settings are set to CABLE SELECT. Without that the drive won’t be recognized at all.


10 Responses

  1. Anything else to know – eg did you need to format the hard drive at all? Thanks

  2. Nope – didn’t need to do anything else. I purchased the drive, verified the jumper was set to Cable Select and popped it in. When the Panasonic came up it said the drive needed to be formatted and I said Ok and let it format the drive. That was it. My program schedules and other settings were all still intact.

  3. Best news I’ve rec’d in a long time! Thanx very much! I just love my DMR-E80H, which still works, but some times it freezes & I have to completely unplug it and then start what-ever I’m doing, from scratch – mainly, edit out unwanted material. I bought another one (used), but it seems to do the same once in a while, no to mention that the response time is slower than my original one. My question is: If the hard drive is taken out and install in a regular PC, will it work in the PC? Will the material in the original drive be able to be copied in its entirety to another drive in one swift sweep? If you have any ideas, they’d be appreciated – Thanx again! Hugo

  4. I have never really tried moving the drive straight to a PC to see if it could read it but I am guessing that the format panasonic uses would be proprietary. You should be able to use the drive in a PC or Mac if you needed a drive but I believe you would have to re-format it for that platform first.

  5. I have never really tried moving the drive straight to a PC to see if it could read it but I am guessing that the format panasonic uses would be proprietary. You should be able to use the drive in a PC or Mac if you needed a drive but I believe you would have to re-format it for that platform first.

  6. Hi, I made the mistake of taking the unit for repairs. I am looking to replace the hard drive, but the cable was disconnected and I don’t know where to attach it. Can you help?

  7. Thank you for the note about the jumper! I bought a new drive and was perplexed why it didn’t recognize in my E80-H. That pesky jumper was the cause of it all.

  8. Just FYI, now most hard drives come with a SATA connection. You need to find one with a PATA or ATA or IDE (all the same thing). I just went thru this. Bought a Western Digital and everything went fine.

  9. Can You replace the 80GB drive with a larger HDD or will it only format the drive as an 80GB drive?

Leave a Reply

