EeePC – How to Restore to Factory Settings

I recently purchased an Asus EeePC and soon after begun to have problems with it turning on. At first it worked fine but then I updated the ROM and things went downhill from there. The EeePC woudn’t turn on or boot up fully at times. When it did, it reached a black screen full of white text and stated that the Processor couldn’t be identified. Sometimes the power and wifi button would light up and then turn off and no go.

So here is what I did to fix it:

If the machine wouldn’t turn on at all, I would remove the battery and press the power button for 10 seconds, then reconnect the battery and the machine would power on. Once the machine started to boot I decided to wipe the machine and do a factory reboot. To do this I followed the instructions I received from Asus Support:

1) During boot-up press F9 continuously up and down

2) In Black Screen select Factory Restore and enter

3) Agree with prompt and type in “YES” and then hit enter

4) Press Enter to reboot

Word of Caution: This wipes everything on the machine – but once I did it the Machine worked perfectly again

Thanks Asus ;-)


20 Responses

  1. hey lionpress. You forgot to mention that you need to access the bios settings first by pressing F2 to enable the “OS installation” option – only after that will pressing F9 work for the rest of your walkthrough, you can see it here :) http://www.iceblue.co.za/reset-asus-eeepc-factory-settings/

  2. Actually, I never had to press F2 on the machine I have. May have come already set like that.

    Another thing I found was that the unit would work great for a while and then start giving problems turning on or booting up again. After quite a bit of troubleshooting, a friend of mine asked if I had tried re-seating the memory, and of course I had not. So I did that and it seems like the machine is now working a lot better. No boot problems for a couple of weeks now.

    • My eee machine wont connect to the internet. I tried to restore it but still does the same thing. Does anyone have any helpful tips

    • (I’m sorry i don’t speak english very well) your post is very interesting, but I’d like know how can I re-seating the memory, before restore the whole system.. Thanks in advance.

  3. That is strange – I had to set mine up using F2 as well as F9. Thanks for the tip about the memory – I will keep it in mind, though I have not had any rebooting problems. Thanks for the post!

  4. Hi,

    I bought a eeepc1000HR in Japan and when I booted it up for the first time I chose the language as english but after it rebooted everything was in Japanese. Would this reset allow to to initialize again this time in English?

  5. thank you VERY MUCH Smart Alec for the details…

  6. [...] it. Same way if you have the restore disk, put it in and run it. Here is a link to help you. http://lionpress.wordpress.com/2008/…tory-settings/ [...]

  7. Hi there

    I also have an Asus Eee PC and when I press F9 nothing appears??? I tried the F2 bios settings and it doesnt give me the option to enable the “OS installation”. Whats wrong with it is there another way to restore it?

  8. Disable the “Boot Boost” option in BIOS under the boot section, then restart and use F9.

    • hey Mark the “boot Boost” is already disabled. Maybe this one doesnt have the self recovery thing

  9. Hey i wanna reset mine but i dnt wanna lost the windows seven i got for it is there anyway i can keep it?

  10. everytime I start my computer it turns on very normal but then after the windows sign it goes tottaly black why? I have no Idea? so I tried the F2-boot booster -disable- exit save- from there it turns on but when I press the F9 button nothing appears ? what Can i Do ?

    • Perform a System Restore by pressing F8 Repeatedly and choosing Safe Mode. Then after logging in, Click Start, All Programs, Accessories, System Tools, and then System Restore. Follow the prompts and make sure to select the second to most recent Restore Point. That should do it.

      I had this exact same problem a couple of months ago with my Eee PC 1000h, I know what you are going through :P

      If none of the above options work (there is only one, never mind), then you should call Asus and ask them for assistance. Worst case scenario, you have to send it back and have them fix it or you will have to buy a new one.

  11. Thanks Lionpress for your post. Easy, informative and helpful.

  12. hi I have brought a used asus eee pc but it needs a total reset, there is no reset button and on doing f2 f9 it asks for a password which I don’t know, how can i restore to factory settings?

  13. Yep had to do F2 then F9 but works fine…cheers

  14. Hello. I have a windows 7 dell netbook, I had it for about 4 years. And the charger broke the first year. The next 2 years, a friend fixed the charger. But, I went on it and it was very slow. I tried system mechanic, avg etc. And nothing worked. I uninstalled stuff, but still nothing. I tried to do a factory reset, but I guess it doesn’t come with it. Is they’re anyway to fix this? Please reply ASAP. Thank you.

  15. Thank you! Taking battery out and then F9 restored my husbands Eee PC so i can use it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

